Provincial and Local Level Service Monitoring Authority (PLLSMA)

Welcome to the PLLSMA page. Here you will read information about the Provincial Local-Level Services Monitoring Authority (PLLSMA) and its roles and functions as well as its provision in accordance with the Organic Law on Provincial and Local Level Government (OLPLLG). Here you will also see and read about the activities carried out by PLLSMA.

While the Organic Law lays out a number of functions, PLLSMA’s primary function is to coordinate and monitor the implementation of national polices at the provincial and local level government levels. It is also tasked to;

  1. Establish and monitor basic minimum standards for urban and rural communities through the sectors which make up membership of PLLSMA
  2. To coordinate support for capacity building needs of the national public service in the provinces.
  3. To establish Provincial Coordination and Monitoring Committees (PCMCs) to undertake the functions of PLLSMA in the provinces.
  4. To assess the efficiency and effectiveness of Provincial and Local Level Governments
  5. Advise the the Minister for Provincial and Local Government Affairs on matters relating to the strengthening of decentralization.

The reforms in 1995 attempted greater decentralization of functions and responsibilities. Each level of government compliments the other’s roles. The National agencies develop policies at the national level and the provinces implement them at the provincial level. With multiple actors in delivering services, you need someone to oversee the coordination and monitoring role. PLLSMA plays this role.

Increased coordination is required at the national level through PLLSMA meetings and sub-committees and at the provincial level through PCMC’s. PLLSMA is the key mechanism to ensure that the reforms deliver improvements in service delivery. PLLSMA will only improve service delivery if all stakeholders make PLLSMA work as intended.

PLLSMA coordinating mechanism comprises of;

  1. National Sub-committees
  2. PCMCs
  3. Provincial Administrators’ Consultative Meeting
  4. Governors’ Conference

Through these processes, implementation in service delivery of basic services can be monitored and coordinated. Further issues and challenges relating to delivery of basic services can also be discussed and attended to. PLLSMA holds four (4) mandatory meetings each year, once every quarter to discuss;

  • National Agency action plans on service delivery programs and their implementation progress
  • Matters related to the performance of Provincial and Local level Government and service delivery
  • Any other matters related to the mandate of PLLSMA

PLLSMA is a government decision making body established by Law with Membership at Departmental Head level. According to Section 110 (2) of the Organic Law on Provincial and Local Level Government, permanent members are the departments of;

  • Provincial and Local Government Affairs (DPLGA) Chairman
  • Justice & Attorney General
  • Finance
  • Treasury
  • National Planning & Monitoring
  • Personnel Management
  • Health
  • Education
  • Works
  • Agriculture & Livestock
  • National Economic Fiscal Commission (NEFC)
  • Royal PNG Constabulary
  • PNG Correctional Services
  • National Training Council
  • Other Departments & National agencies as determined by the National Executive Council (NEC)
  • Co-opt members are called as when required.